Freia Fine Handpaints Ombre Sport Yarn - Cochinilla Reviews

Freia Fine Handpaints Ombre Sport Yarn - Cochinilla
Cochinilla shown $26.00
Ombre Sport is a stunning single-ply yarn spun from Colorado-raised sheep and hand-dyed in California. A gradient yarn, the color runs are long and consistently even from dye lot to dye lot, all thanks to Freia's meticulous dying process.

$26.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Cochinilla)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
6
Physical Weight:
75g
Primary Fiber:
100% Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% wool
US Needle:
5
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Sport (24-26 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
217    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Hand Painted
Eco:
  Ethically Sourced
Feel:
  Crisp
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Ball
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Pleasant
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Ombre Sport Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5.0 based on 9 reviews)

lovely colors 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn with a specific pattern in mind and I was not disappointed! The striping is fabulous, and I had no problems knitting with it. Wish Jimmy Beans slot the worsted version.
By River Otter on Feb 27, 2015      (read River Otter's 5 other reviews) 10 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Ombre 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
haven't used this yet but the colors are wonderful and I have never been disappointed with Freia Handpaints.
By DonnaK on Jan 21, 2015      (read DonnaK's 29 other reviews) 12 out of 25 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely and durable! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is a very robust single-ply. It knits up at a variety of gauges and the color progressions are really beautiful. I used two balls to make a slightly larger version of Martina Behm's 22 Little Clouds and despite LOTS of wear and tugging and interaction with winter zippers and velcro, it still looks fresh off the needles.
By Legalknitter on Jun 01, 2014      (read Legalknitter's 31 other reviews) 15 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Interesting yarn. 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I plan to make a shawl state with this, and watch the colors change as it knits up. Very.long dye run,.
By defarge1946 on Apr 12, 2014      (read defarge1946's 11 other reviews) 13 out of 31 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Legalknitter on Apr 09, 2014      (read Legalknitter's 31 other reviews) 15 out of 29 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Gorgeous colors on a great base 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I adore this yarn. Big, long color sequences in an ombre not repeating stripes progression. I used 2 skeins of this yarn last year to knit 22 Little Clouds by Martina Behm. The resulting wonderful little scarf has worn beautifully, soft and yet sturdy, even when meeting the velcro parts of my dogwalking coat!
By Legalknitter on Apr 09, 2014      (read Legalknitter's 31 other reviews) 15 out of 30 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Good addition to the yarn selection 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is addictive. The ombre effect works every time with a scarf pattern or the Wingspan. I get mesmerized by the color changes and have to remind myself to look at the pattern once in a while. Beautiful yarn. I'm glad you carry such a wide array of colors.
By M. Fitzpatrick on Apr 08, 2014      (read M. Fitzpatrick's 7 other reviews) 8 out of 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By malya on Apr 08, 2014      (read malya's 2 other reviews) 6 out of 21 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Will use this again and again! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Oh my. How many ways can I say yummy? I bought this yarn in Melon for Zuzu's Petals. The colors are even more vibrant than they appear on the monitor--gorgeous! The yarn is nice to work with. As with other single ply yarns, you will occasionally run into a slight thick or thin spot--very few, but they are there. No knots at all. The piece softened up beautifully upon soaking/blocking. This yarn is a winner, I am already trying to decide which colorway to try next!
By SportyGranola on Mar 30, 2014      (read SportyGranola's 14 other reviews) 11 out of 22 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!